Event

Blue Beacon Series: Hidden Pacific

Dates: August 13, 2020 - August 13, 2020

Location: Virtual Screening

The Blue Beacon Virtual Film Festival

The deep blue waters of the Pacific Ocean are teeming with life. Islands that barely rise above the ocean’s surface are home to massive seabird rookeries, and underneath the waves, vibrant coral reefs that give life to species found nowhere else on Earth. These wild and wondrous protected waters encompass the healthiest coral reefs in U.S. waters as well as some of the most pristine atolls on Earth. They also help safeguard a rich cultural history that spans millennia—from Polynesian sacred sites to World War II battlegrounds.

Explore these wondrous places through Hidden Pacific, a pioneering film profiling the Pacific Ocean’s protected and remote marine national monuments and national wildlife refuge islands. Then, join the National Marine Sanctuary Foundation for a live Q&A event on August 13th at 7:00pm ET/4:00pm PT/1:00 pm HT with filmmaker Ian Shive to discuss his film, the beauty and biodiversity of Pacific marine sanctuaries and monuments, and the need to protect them for our shared future.